A Lens Review


Now for the first post about what this blog was originally intended for – a review of something relevant to filmmaking!

My Lens

This is the chosen one.

So, I am reviewing the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro. That’s a long name, but it’s needed because Sigma do three 70-300mm lenses, all around the same price range, and all looking fairly similar. There are also some competing models from both Tamron and Canon (because I use Canon I can’t be bothered to review the Nikon one, but all these lenses word with Nikon as well) They are:

  1. Sigma 70-300mm DG Macro (My one, £130)
  2. Sigma 70-300mm APO DG Macro (It has a red ring :O, £180)
  3. Sigma 70-300mm DG OS (No red ring, £230)
  4. Tamron 70-300mm AF LD  (£100)
  5. Canon 70-300mm AF EF (£240)
Out of these, I chose the one in bold. I shall give you some reasons for this.
I shall say first that I currently own a Canon EOS 300. That means not a digital one, a film one, and I currently have plans to buy a Canon 600D. It is therefore necessary that this lens fit both a Full Frame Censor (the film one) and a APS-C sensor (the cropped digital one).
Firstly, when I walked into a shop (yes, I still do that kind of thing) and asked to check if the Sigma 1. fitted on my camera, I was immediately struck by the great build quality of the lens: it felt reassuringly heavy, but not too heavy. It also has a metal mount, meaning it is less likely to break off the camera by accident.
Then, I asked to compare it with the Tamron, and it was really a pointless question. For only £30 more, you get a lot more quality, although I would argue that the Tamron looks nicer, but that’s really irrelevant.
The reason I didn’t buy the others was mainly for price – I was trying to buy the best lens I could for under £150, and I definitely chose the right one. But, if unlike me the money doesn’t matter so much, I would go for the APO DG, mainly because of the better quality glass, and, or course, that red ring 🙂
One last thing – the Macro on the end of the name actually does mean something. If you zoom in to between 200 and 300mm, you can switch on Macro mode, allowing you to focus up to 1.5m away from the camera, and allows a Macro ratio of 1:2, just for any wildlife photographers out there.
I would post a video, but I couldn’t find any decent ones about this specific lens. More to come soon – I’m buying  a bigger camera bag to fit all this gear into, and I’ll post a review on that when I have decided.
Alex, signing off.
About AlexForey

Fanatical about film, young filmmaker, photographer and Youtuber.

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

